Reviews

Reading Wrap-Up: Adult Books

So towards the end of last year, I realized that I was getting a little bit burned out on YA. I’m still going to be reading it, because it’s my favorite genre, but I am going to be trying to pick up more adult books this year (especially since I signed up for Book of the Month club).

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith – 4 stars

I really enjoyed this, despite being a little unsure at the beginning. I really like the relationship between Cormoran and Robin and appreciate that right now, their relationship is professional. I also appreciate that Rowling, I mean Galbraith, created a character that is a wounded veteran and we see him still coping with what happened to him. I like that Strike is a bit rough, but never a full on asshole, though he can have his moments. I liked all of the twists and turns that Rowling was able to create and I honestly didn’t see the ending coming at all, which is unusual because I’m fairly good at predicting who’s the criminal in these types of stories. It was just an overall strong start to this series and I look forward to reading the rest.

cuckoos-calling

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi – 5 stars

Wow. Just wow.

I don’t even know what to say.

I loved reading how the two half-sister’s lines ended up and how circumstances can affect not only the present life but future generations. It was definitely a difficult read as Gyasi portrays the slave trade, slave life in America, the fugitive slave law, and Jim Crow, but it’s also an incredibly important read. We cannot forget our history and we need to learn from it, which myself and my fellow white people still have a lot to do. I wish I had more eloquent words, but right now, I don’t other than I wish everyone would read this.

homegoing

Leave a Reply

