Reviews

Reading Wrap-Up: Non-fiction

Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History by Sam Maggs – 5 stars

I started reading this the day of the election and after those couple of days, I really needed to read about some kickass, take no one’s bullshit ladies. And this was the perfect pick me up. I loved reading about ladies being badass. And Maggs managed to do so in a witty, sarcastic, nerdy way. She highlighted these women’s contributions while also talking about their lives so that it felt like I was getting to know each of the women as a person rather than just reading a boring textbook. I just loved this book and will read it whenever I am feeling down because it’s just such a positive book, even when pointing out the flaws of the women.

wonder-women

Buffering by Hannah Hart – 5 stars

I don’t know what I expected when I went into this, but holy shit was it good. Hannah was so raw and unafraid to talk about all of her struggles, and I really appreciated it. I felt myself connecting to her in ways I didn’t expect. I laughed. I cried. I wanted to reach into my book and give Hannah a big hug and tell her that everything was going to be okay. I also love that despite everything, Hannah was still able to convey a sense of hope. I love that she used her platform to advocate for getting help if you need it by showing that she’s reached out, too. I just really loved reading this book.

buffering

Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick – 4 stars

I love Anna Kendrick, especially when she tweets. So I was expecting this to be a little bit funnier than it was. It also seemed like a long rambling stream of consciousness rather more than anything else. It’s clear that Anna is self-depricating and wants to stay as down to earth as possible. I can’t quite put my finger on why I’m not in love with this, but I just wasn’t.

scrappy-little-nobody

The Nurses: A Year of Secrets, Drama, and Miracles with the Heroes of the Hospital by Alexandra Robbins – 4 stars

I really appreciate the amount of research that Robbins clearly did for this book. And I also enjoyed getting to know the four main nurses that we follow throughout the year. However, I guess I wish Robbins had focused on more than just ED nurses with the narrative part of the book (especially since I don’t want to go into an ED, but that’s a personal preference). As someone who is going to be going into the field of nursing in just over 6 months, it was really interesting to read what the current state of nursing is like from all around the country since I only get a glimpse of it in my clinical rotations. I also loved reading about the nurses advocating for their patients. The world of nursing isn’t always pretty, as Robbins shows in this book, but I know for me, I can’t imagine doing anything else with my life.

the-nurses

Leave a Reply

