Reviews

Reading Wrap-Up: Ray Bradbury

The Halloween Tree – 5 stars

This was so much fun and such a quick read.

This was my first Ray Bradbury book, and it did not disappoint. I love that this is basically A Christmas Carol, but for Halloween. I loved going through the different histories of how Halloween is celebrated. I really enjoyed the writing and felt like I was actually in the story. I like that Moundshroud is Death personified (or at least, that’s how I read him). I just really really enjoyed this and look forward to re-reading this every October.

the-halloween-tree

Something Wicked This Way Comes – 3.5 stars

I can’t quite put my finger on why this one didn’t resonate as much with me as The Halloween Tree did, but there was just something off. In theory, I should have loved it: creepy carnival that preys on the townspeople? Sign me up. The writing is gorgeous as with The Halloween Tree, but I just couldn’t connect with it. The ending was a little too sappy for my taste and it was just an overall okay book for me.

something-wicked-this-way-comes

Leave a Reply

