Reviews

Series Review: The Infernal Devices + The Shadowhunter’s Codex

Clockwork Angel – 4.5 stars

There was a pause between finishing reading the book and writing the review because I waited until after I took an exam that I should’ve been studying for instead of trying to listen to this because it was due back to the library in 9 hours. Great life choices right here.

*Edit*: most definitely don’t read books when you should be studying…though it all ended up being okay in the end

Now on to the review!

This is so much better than The Mortal Instruments. I like the entire cast of characters much better in this book than I did in any of the TMI books. None of the characters got on my nerve and I appreciated that they were appropriate for the time period yet they were also forward thinking. The amount of sass in this was fantastic. I really loved the setting of Victorian London. It was fast paced and the writing was much stronger. I really loved the steampunk/clockwork aspects of the story (apparently I’m getting really into that, who would have thought?). The villain in this one seems so much stronger than Valentine and stupid Sebastian. While I sense a love triangle coming, thank God none of them are related. I took off a half a star because I predicted some of the twists that happened. Also, again, a huge-ish battle and only side characters died. Dear authors: it is okay to kill main characters. Thanks.

clockwork-angel

Clockwork Prince – 4.5 stars

I don’t know how I feel about this love triangle because I love all three of the characters involved. And I’m also sort of spoiled because I know how things played out since I read both City of Heavenly Fire and The Bane Chronicles before I read this. I am intrigued to see how the love triangle resolves itself to the final stages that I know it gets to, though.

Nevertheless, I still enjoyed this one. This series in general is so much stronger than The Mortal Instruments for me (as I mentioned in my review of Clockwork Angel). I’m torn about how I feel about the romance playing a bigger part than the action in this one. On one hand, these stories are perfect for adventure, but on the other hand, I love these characters so much, so I did enjoy reading about them. As with Clockwork Angel, I predicted some of the twists, but for some reason, it didn’t bother me that much.

I am looking forward to reading Clockwork Princess and hope that it delivers on the action because I am going to be extremely disappointed if there is all of this build-up to a fight that doesn’t occur.

clockwork-prince

Clockwork Princess – 4 stars

I was actually rather let down by this finale.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved reading about Tessa, Jem, and Will. However, I didn’t particularly enjoy that the majority of the book focused on their love triangle. It felt like the conflict with Mortmain was pushed to the back-burner, even though he is supposedly the worst threat the Shadowhunters have faced. The action sequences went by way too fast, and again, none of the main characters died? Okay. I have a really hard time accepting that. Yes, Henry did get severely injured, but that was the worst of it. And do all of the main characters really need to end up in a relationship? However, overall, I did enjoy reading about the characters and seeing the relationships and friendships grow between the Institute family. I also still loved the Victorian England setting. I just wish there was less focus on the romance and more on the tension between the Shadowhunters and Mortmain.

clockwork-princess

Overall series – 4.33 stars

The Shadowhunter’s Codex – 2 stars

Ehhh, was this necessary? No. Did I still read the entire thing? Yes.

I thought the writing was really weird. There were times it felt oddly conversational for a “guide” and other times it felt super formal. It also seemed a little weird to me that for the most part, the Shadowhunter would be referred to as “she.” Normally, I’d be super excited that the default wasn’t “he,” but for this particular book, it would make sense. I know that this is the whatever-th edition, but the original edition would’ve be written with the male Hunter in mind given that society. I know this is a weird thing to have picked up on, but it really confused me. I think it’s because by making the Hunter a female instead of a male, it felt more like it was written for Clary in particular rather than the entire Hunter community. If that makes sense. I don’t know. The inputs from Clary, Jace, and Simon were just unnecessary at times. I liked a lot of the artwork, but I wish there were captions or something to explain what the pictures were of. I just feel like this didn’t add much to my reading experience nor did it really provide any new information.

shadowhunters-codex

Leave a Reply

