Reviews

Reading Wrap-Up: Random Books

There were three books that I read over the summer that I’m not quite sure what I should categorize them as, so I’m just going to lump them all together here.

The Fangirl Life: A Guide to All the Feels and Learning How to Deal by Kathleen Smith – 3.5 stars

I appreciated the overall vibe of the book, and Smith does impart some good advice. But by the end of the book, I was tired of reading about our special unique unicornness or whatever it was she kept saying. I think if I had read this when I was in my late teens/college years rather than my post-grad education years, I would’ve enjoyed it just a little bit better. However, I did appreciate the exercises that Smith included and that it really was a self-help book. Also, the illustrations are adorable.

the-fangirl-life

F*cking Awkward by Taryn Plendl – 2.5 stars

I really didn’t enjoy most of these stories. It became super repetitive and I found myself not really laughing. I was super uncomfortable in two of the stories, and not just because they were awkward. They were just not appropriate and I quit reading them both halfway through. I don’t know what I expected, but it didn’t really fulfill anything for me.

fcking-awkward

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day – 4 stars

I don’t really know what I was expecting when I picked this up. I didn’t really laugh that much, which I think is why I took off a star. Since Felicia is a comedian and this memoir is often listed under the “Humor” category, I was expecting to laugh way more. With that said, I love how honest Felicia was about growing up, creating The Guild (and all of the anxiety/depression that accompanied that part of her life), and what happens when you become famous on the internet (aka the whole #GamerGate event). Overall, I did enjoy reading about Felicia’s life, it just didn’t stand out as a 5-star book for me.

youre-never-weird-on-the-internet

Leave a Reply

