Reviews

Review: Pride and Prejudice

It only took me twenty-odd years, but I finally read Pride and Prejudice. I think I had already seen the 2005 Kiera Knightley version (I have a vague recollection of going with my best friend and her mom when it came out in theaters, but that was mainly because her mom dragged us and we fell asleep during the movie because we were uncultured swine) and I binge watched The Lizzie Bennet Diaries on YouTube, so I had a decent grasp on the story. However, I had never actually sat down to read the novel. My TBR jar pick for the month of May was to read a novel and watch its movie adaptation, so I figured it was about time I read Pride and Prejudice (plus, I had the audiobook narrated by Rosamund Pike, which made it all the more better). All I can say is that I am Lizzy/Darcy trash and though I knew that they ended up getting together at the end, I kept saying ‘just kiss already’ in my head. In fact, when I watched the Keira Knightley version right after finishing the book, I screamed at my screen multiple times that my babies were falling in love and they didn’t even know it. It’s kind of scary how quickly and passionately I got on the Lizzy/Darcy ship. I love the character of Jane as well, and needed her and Mr. Bingely to also hurry up and just get together because my little shipper heart needed it.

Lizzy is just sarcastic and sassy and judgmental, but I love her character growth throughout the novel. And Darcy is so socially awkward it almost hurt (especially during certain points of the movie). I loved the supporting cast of Bennets, especially Mr. Bennet. I think Lizzy definitely got her sass from him. I just love this so much.

5 stars

Pride and Prejudice

Leave a Reply

