Reviews

Reading Wrap-Up: Real Life Books

These two books have literally nothing to do with each other despite being based on real-life events.

The first is Missoula: Rape and the Justice System in a College Town by Jon Krakauer. It took me a week to be able to review it on Goodreads because of the tough topic that it covered and I ended up giving it 4 stars. We live in a world where rape culture is unfortunately a normal thing, so I appreciate that Krakauer took the time to thoroughly research this book to try to bring some light to the horrors that rape victims go through. It is not an easy read by any means, but at the same time, I did not want to put it down. I was horrified to read about what these women experienced, from their accounts of the actual rape to how they were let down by the system that is meant to bring them justice. There were several times that I wanted to throw my book across the room because I was so outraged at how certain individuals handled the women’s cases (especially a particular ADA turned defense attorney turned DA). I appreciated that Krakauer was sensitive in the way that he reported what happened in that he covered the facts, but did not sexualize anything that occurred. It was clear that he felt a personal connection with these women, as there was a blatant bias toward them. It did not bother me so much, though, because they deserve to have someone in their corner.

I mainly took off from my rating because the pacing felt disjointed. I wish he would have seen one woman’s story through before moving on the the next. I realize that the timelines of all of these stories were happening concurrently for the most part, especially with different mandates being put in place, but I found it hard to keep up with whose story was being told sometimes.

There is really nothing more for me to say other than it is terrifying to know that Missoula is not a lone wolf with regards to the number of sexual assaults that occurred there.

Missoula

The second is Grace & Style by Grace Helbig. Like I said, two completely different books, but I couldn’t think of anywhere else to group either. I was thoroughly disappointed with this book and only gave it 3 stars.

I enjoyed the stories of young Grace and her experiences with fashion, but that was just about it. The Sweatpants Diaries were weird, and though I could see what she was trying to accomplish with them, I just could not get behind them. Her predictions of what each piece of clothing/accessory mean was almost funny, but again, I have a hard time getting behind them. I honestly don’t think I laughed once when I was reading this book.

I love Grace, but I don’t think her humor translated well to the page for this particular book. And that really pains me to say. I will continue to buy books that she writes because I really enjoyed her first book and want her to be successful.

Grace and Style

Leave a Reply

