Monthly Recommendations

March Monthly Recommendations: Stand Alones

The lovely Kayla Rayne (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4ZhMXJLeoGqIQi1SlR07rg) and Trina (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5sNXtE1-m-Sipo1tDnvQQw) started an awesome GoodReads Group (https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/168259-monthly-recommendations)  where every month has a topic that members use to guide their recommendations to other book lovers. The topic for March is stand alone books, so here are my 7 recommendations!

Zeus Grants Stupid Wishes

Zeus Grants Stupid Wishes

I found out about this book from my sister when we were planning what to get our mutual friend for her birthday and knew that I needed it in my life right away. It’s a hilarious take on many of the myths I already knew (Greek, Egyptian, American) with the inclusion of myths from other cultures and religions that I am not familiar with at all.

Hawkeye vs. Deadpool

Hawkeye vs Deadpool

Two of my all-time favorite Marvel characters are Hawkeye and Deadpool. Put them together and you’ve got me sold. I absolutely love their partnership and the hilarious hijinks they found themselves in.

Watchmen

Watchmen

If you’ve seen the movie, you are pretty familiar with what happens in the graphic novel. However, the graphic novel goes so much more in detail with the world, including excerpts from newspapers and books from the time of the story. In a world where the tensions between the Russians and the Americans is at an all-time high due to the nuclear arms race, what happens when you throw superheroes into the mix?

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Perks of Being a Wallflower

This is probably one of the more recommended books, but it got me through my hell-ish sophomore fall semester where I was questioning everything about my major and my future goals. I related to Charlie and his letters felt like he was speaking to me as a friend, which is exactly what I needed. It’s a heartbreaking story, for sure, but it’s an important one that needs to be told.

Where the Sidewalk Ends

Where the Sidewalk Ends

One of my favorites from when I was growing up. I love Shel Silverstein’s poetry and how he has such a command of words. His way of telling the concerns of growing up is so imaginative and allows for both children and adults to relate to what is happening.

Cezanne is Missing

Cezanne is Missing

I was assigned to read this book when I was in 9th grade and was, quite frankly, dreading reading it because I’m not one for Holocaust stories (I can’t stomach the horrific conditions the victims were subjected to) . However, I quickly fell in love with the characters and felt invested in the mystery surrounding ‘Cezanne’. It’s set right after 9/11, but it’s main focus is on the story of decoding what happened during World War II. I haven’t read it since 9th grade, but it has stuck with me for almost 8 years.

Dracula

Dracula

I couldn’t make this recommendation list without mentioning a classic. Dracula is one of my all-time favorite books and I sped through it when I was flying from Corpus Christi to El Paso and back. I think I finished it in like 10 hours (which, for me, is extremely fast, even if it’s normal speed for others) because I was gripped by the story and had to know what happened to Mina, Lucy, Jonathan, Van Helsing, and Dracula.

Leave a Reply

