Update

I Swear I’m Still Here: Updates and What’s To Come

It’s been a hot second (okay, more like a long, long two months) since my last post. This was mainly because I have reached that point in nursing school that everyone warned me about: writing the dreaded care plans. Well, it’s more than just the care plans, to be honest (because those didn’t crop up until the beginning of March). Second semester is like first semester. On steroids. And you’re riding your bike. But it’s on fire. And you create nursing diagnoses for yourself and your friends (such as ‘Severe anxiety related to research project as evidenced by tachypnea, dyspnea, chest pains, palpitations, nightmares, excessive thoughts, and diaphoresis’). Honestly, though, I absolutely love what I am learning/doing in my clinicals, so it makes it all worth it if you ask me.

Let’s check in on my resolutions and how I’m doing:
-Read at least 1/2 of the books I already own: hahaahahah (I CAN’T STOP BUYING BOOKS, IT’S SUCH A PROBLEM)
-Read at least 1/2 of the graphic novels I already own: yeaaah, about that (though I have been very good about not buying new ones)
-Read the books I receive in OwlCrate within a month of receiving them: Wow, I’m failing hardcore at these resolutions
-Do the 2016 TBR Jar challenge: 2/2 and working on this month’s pick!
-Use the PopSugar Challenge when I’m in a reading slump: I’ve used this a couple of times
-Read at least 75 books: According to GoodReads, I’m 3 books behind =(
-Utilize the “What I Read” journal from OwlCrate: I’m 5 books behind…
-Finish ASOIAF: hahahaha, I haven’t picked up A Storm of Swords yet (for reference: it’s been almost three years since I finished A Clash of Kings….)
-Write a review for each book I read: I’ve written one for each book on GoodReads, but not here

Obviously I have a lot of catching up to do with these resolutions. But now that I *think* I have a routine down with how my weeks are going to go, I should be able to work more on reading and I’m really going to try to update here more.

Without further ado, here’s what I’m hoping to post in the next couple of days:
-Reviews for Little Humans, Humans of New York: Stories, Black Widow: Forever Red, The Magician’s Nephew, The Lightning Thief, and The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe
The March Monthly Recommendations based on the topics from the GoodReads group (https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/168259-monthly-recommendations) started by Kayla Rayne (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4ZhMXJLeoGqIQi1SlR07rg) and Trina (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5sNXtE1-m-Sipo1tDnvQQw): this will hopefully become a recurring thing on this blog!

So there you have it! I’m looking into a few more groups to join with to add some variety to what I post, so keep an eye out for those.

Leave a Reply

