Reviews

Review: The Graveyard Book Volume 1

First read of 2016!

5 out of 5 stars

I read The Graveyard Book back in October, and while I thoroughly enjoyed it, I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars. I don’t know what it was about the novel, but I had a hard time picturing some of the scenes, so having the graphic novel format was exciting. I had not pictured the ghouls as they were depicted at all, and I appreciated that the artwork was able to help shape my previously unformed images. I knew going in that there were some graphic images at the beginning, but the beginning of the book was not a cheerful one, so it did not come as too much of a surprise. I thought that the pictures were not too over the top and did a good job of portraying the horrifying situation that Bod’s family ended up in. I loved the artwork, especially how Silas, Bod, and Liza were depicted. I also loved how it covered each of the first five chapters without feeling like it was dragging on. I look forward to reading the second volume.

GraveyardBookVol1.jpg

Leave a Reply

